• Brianna Howard (B.A. 2018) was named director of digital media for House Budget Committee Republicans.
  • Ph.D. candidate Daniel Petri was selected to be part of the Teacher Advisory Council for the National Constitution Center.
  • Politics major Abby Anger was featured in a university profile, as was Maggie Kase, a sociology major who is pursuing a Certificate in Intelligence Studies.
  • The Intelligence Club was named CUA’s student organization of the year.
  • Two faculty members appeared on C-SPAN: Matthew Green (and his cat Spaghetti), who provided commentary during the opening day of the House of Representatives, and Nicholas Dujmovic, who discussed the 1961 invasion of the Bay of Pigs in Cuba.
  • Professor Dorle Helmuth’s research on counterterrorism policies across the last three U.S. administrations was published in the journal Humanitas.
  • Professor Maryann Cusimano Love helped organize and run a week-long seminar on nuclear disarmament in January, which included students from CUA, Notre Dame, Georgetown, and over a dozen countries around the world.
  • Professor John White received a grant from the School of Arts and Sciences to hire a research assistant to provide research assistance for his forthcoming publication Party On: How Political Parties Came to Be and Where They Are Headed. He also began writing a biweekly column for The Hill.
  • Professor Andrew Yeo coauthored a report on the impact of marketization on civil society in North Korea and published in the journal Comparative Strategy on the expansion of U.S. military bases overseas.

The Dornan and Ammodio Awards

Each year the department grants two prestigious awards to graduating seniors. The Dornan Award, which is given to a senior for overall academic excellence, was awarded this year to Audrey Adams-Mejia. The winner of the Ammodio Award, which recognizes outstanding public service, was Allison Sijgers. Congratulations to Audrey and Allison for their remarkable achievements!